The settings page provides the option to permanently delete your database. This action is irreversible and will:
Delete the entire database and all of its branches
Remove all data and backups permanently
Disconnect any applications currently connected to the database
Include usage charges in your invoice through the deletion date
Database deletion cannot be undone. Make sure you have proper backups and that no critical applications depend on this database before proceeding.
To delete a database:
1
Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page
2
Click the red Delete database button
3
Enter the database name
4
Click Delete database to confirm
Only organization administrators and database administrators have permission to delete databases. See the Access Control documentation for more information about user permissions.
If you would like to ‘soft delete’ your database first, you can instead enable IP restrictions on the passwords for that database.To enable IP restrictions:
1
From the Settings page, select Passwords from the list
2
Click the three dots button next to the password you wish to restrict
3
Click the Manage IP restrictions button
4
Add in an IP range that is NOT used by any clients and click the Add button
This will restrict the IP range to what is specified and can be used to test if connection are going to the database via the password in question.
This is a useful test for determining if the password in question is still in use, before deleting either the database or the password.
You should also confirm in Insights that no queries are executing on the database.This helps avoid remaking passwords that are still in use or deleting a database that is still in use.Once you’ve confirmed that no traffic is using any of your database passwords, you can follow the steps above to delete the database if desired and safe.